Wouldn't it be great if

… the game had predictive logistics?

Not so much for factories, but it would be awesome if residences, for each need, kept track of how long the average delivery has taken (rolling average over the last X game ticks, maybe?) and ordered accordingly.

For example, a house has 12/12 survival food and is eating 1.2 per minute with zero food in transit. If the average delivery time over the last X game ticks is 3 minutes, it would make sense to order two food right now from any available producer, instead of waiting until the food runs down to 11.

The reason I suggest this is that, as a noob, I did have some rather long paths from producer to residence at first and I was never able to sustain high enough levels of some resources to upgrade, or in the worst cases even to keep people from moving out/downgrading. Got out a stopwatch and eventually realized that (average transit time X consumption) was so large that most or all of the residences’ resources were in transit.

I’m sure all the vets out there are nodding and smiling at my noobness, but if the members of the residence were just a wee bit smarter about ordering they’d be a lot easier to keep happy. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The problem with this system is that average time can vary a lot. If the average is 3 minutes but some of them only take half a minute then if they order from such a food source, it will just go to waste. I’m afraid your wish won’t be fulfilled by the devs.

And to be honest I think it shouldn’t. There is a solution to your problem by changing your city. Your change is making the game easier but for what benefit? Most of the mods you can find in the steam workshop are the same: simply make the game easier to play. No need to use your brain to solve the problems the game throws at you. Just click to win. Maybe this is in vogue with video games these days? Kind of reminds me of this video What if Quake was done today

1 Like